Lochlyn Hill is so named for its proximity to the historic Lochlyn Mill which operated on the banks of Meadowcreek for more than 100 years. The mill and nearby home were built by John Craven between 1753 and 1756, nine years after Albemarle County was established and 12 years before Charlottesville became a town. In 1852, it became known as Cochran’s Mill, presumably reflecting a change in ownership, although it was still referred to as Lochlyn Mill on the 1891 Peyton Map of Albemarle. The mill burned in 1941 but the house remains just east of Rio Road and has been used as both a residence and an antique store since the beginning of the 20th century.
Watermills like Lochlyn Mill date back to the first century BC and were common along streams and rivers in Virginia until the late 19th century when many were replaced by more efficient steam powered models. While their primary function was to grind corn, watermills were also used for a variety of other purposes from pumping water to grinding flint and animal feed. Millstones, the artifacts of this early industrial process, are now iconic historic symbols and contemporary decorative art.
Peyton Map of Albemarle 1875 (Courtesy of Charlottesville Albemarle Historical Society).
The Lochlyn Hill logo was inspired, in part, by the millstone but its continuous circular braid was intentionally crafted to resemble both a wreath and a celtic, or endless knot. It symbolizes the cycle of life, and the power of eternal love and friendship. Our homes are sanctuaries in which we experience and celebrate love, friendship and life. When we open our hearts and our homes to those around us, we build community. We drive carpools, help elderly neighbors, share coffee or a couple eggs, keep a watchful eye on children. We raise families together, grow old together and celebrate life’s special moments together. This is community. This is Lochlyn Hill.